19th Annual Fred Ebb Award to be Presented to Freya Catrin Smith & Jack Williams

November 6, 2023
Fred Ebb Award

The Fred Ebb Foundation (Mitchell S. Bernard, Trustee) in association with the Roundabout Theatre Company (Todd Haimes, President/CEO, in memoriam; Scott Ellis, Interim Artistic Director) will present the nineteenth annual Fred Ebb Award for aspiring musical theatre songwriters to the team of Freya Catrin Smith & Jack Williams. The award, named in honor of the late award-winning lyricist Fred Ebb, will be presented by Bebe Neuwirth on Mon Nov 27th from 6:00-8:00 PM at a by-invitation-only ceremony in the Penthouse Lounge of The American Airlines. The Fred Ebb Award recognizes excellence in musical theatre songwriting, by a songwriter or songwriting team that has not yet achieved significant commercial success. The award is meant to encourage and support aspiring songwriters to create new works for the musical theatre. The prize includes a $60,000 award. The selection panel is comprised of Foundation Trustee Mitchell S. Bernard, actor Adam Chanler-Berat, music director David Loud, and actor Meghan Picerno. Each year, the Foundation also makes a donation to Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS.

Press contact: Claire Wojciechowski/Matt Ross Public Relations (212-756-1248)